Doubling Up!

“Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a huge crowd of witnesses to the life of faith, let us strip off every weight that slows us down, especially the sin that so easily trips us up. and let us run with endurance the race God has set before us.” – Hebrews 12:1

“My child, don’t make light of the Lord’s discipline, and don’t give up when he corrects you.” – Hebrews 12:5

Work at living in peace with everyone, and work at living a holy life, for those who are not holy will not see the Lord. Look after each other so that none of you fails to receive the grace of God. Watch out that no poisonous root of bitterness grows up to trouble you, corrupting many.” Hebrews 12:14-15

Wow, Hebrews is such an encouraging book. I think it is now one of my favorite books in the bible. Actually, since reading through the entire bible I was surprised to find so many encouraging books in the bible, even in the Old Testament!

So it’s almost the end of the year and I’m almost done with my 2011 & 2012 Resolution to read the whole bible. I didn’t finish it in 2011 but it’s okay, my 2012 resolution was to finish my 2011 resolution. I’m a tad behind so I need to double up on my reading to finish on time! I’m stoked! =)

So.. Friday’s counseling with our pastor was a little uncomfortable. I know when I’m on the right path because I feel peace. But after meeting with the pastor and even after when Chance and I spent time together afterwards I just didn’t feel at ease inside. Up until today, actually, and  even at this moment I still don’t feel at peace. Which means something is not right. I can’t help but wonder if maybe this means I’m just not supposed to be with Chance. But I don’t want to jump and make any decisions unless I’m 100% sure. In my past relationships when I had the final breakup I knew deep in my heart that it was time to let go, and I had peace about it (does not at all mean I did not go through pain and depression afterwards), but right now, even though I do kind of feel like it, it’s not a solid conviction. So maybe God is trying to reveal something else? This now moves to the top of my prayer list. I watched a podcast of a sermon on Saturday and the pastor said it’s not crazy to ask God to reveal if a person you just started dating is “the one.” If we ask, God will reveal. Well right now I’m at the ideal marriage age and Chance and I have been dating for over 2 years, so I think I’ve reached the age and time where I should just ask God straight out.

On another note. Remember my EDD troubles? How they cut my benefit amount? Well not only did they cut it, but they took out 1 weeks worth. I’m disappointed but not too panicked because I know God is going to pull through. Tithing = Trusting. I really think God is putting me to the test, after last week’s QT when I realized what I was doing wrong. Think about it. Last week, I received a refund the amount of 1 month’s tithe. I haven’t had a chance to pull it out at the ATM so I couldn’t give it on Sunday as planned, and then I get a letter from EDD that this week I’ll only being receiving benefit for 1 week instead of 2. How’s that for a test, huh? Amazing! But I am not laying a finger on that money. It is set aside for God. I trust God will pull through somehow, someway, on His timing. That’s the most amazing part. When I tithe is when I experience the most amazing miracles. And I can’t wait to share that with you.

Surprisingly not stressed at all about my tighter financial situation,

An Ordinary Girl <3

 

Any thoughts?

